WAR OF THE WINGS South Island Sprintcar Series

Series  Calendar

Seven rounds of Sprintcar racing at its adrenalizing best....

Read More

Series  Drivers

Current series competitor list and driver profiles...

Read More

Contact  Us

Contact details for War of the Wings key personnel...

Read More

War of the Wings

Series Format

Sprintcars warm up

Then cars will be split into 2 groups for 4 laps of hot laps

Cars will then stay in infield for time trials (optional per track)

Cars will be given 3 groups prior to event for heat races

1 – 3, 2 – 1, 3 - 2

Points will be given from 20 points down to 1

Points are still awarded for DNF according to how cars retire from race

No points for DNS

Accumulated points determine start order for Feature

If points are tied then highest finished position starts highest

Max of 18 cars in feature (at the Race Directors discretion)

Feature is 20 – 25 laps as negotiated by tracks

Feature Winner is the first car under the checkered flag

Prize money paid out on night    1st - $400    2nd - $300    3rd - $200    4th - $100    (If there is no Feature, prize money will not be awarded)

Front row challenge; if top qualifier wishes to start of f the rear of the field in the feature then, $1,000 prize if he wins & 200 points towards overall series points. (has to be a minimum of 14 cars start feature)

Lapped cars stay in place

If there are 14 cars or less, 3 heats will be run with all cars in each heat

Marble draw for front 3 rows, 1 stays as is, 2 swap rows 1 & 2, 3 swap rows 1 & 3

Feature must complete 1/3 distance to call it a race, if not then will refer back to heat points for winner

Series points to be accumulated for overall winner.

1st = 100

2nd = 95

3rd = 90

4th = 85

5th = 80 & less 5 points per placing from here on (18th = 5 points)

Teams Format

There will be 3 teams of up to 8 cars

Once entries have been confirmed, teams will be seeded fairly and evenly

Points will be taken from the top 5 cars of each team per night

$1,000 prize money for winning team on night

Team captain to allocate money as he wants

Points will be taken on:

Time trial fastest 40 points down in 2 point increments

Heats will be awarded as per usual 20 points down

Feature will be awarded as cars finish from 40 points down in 2 point increments

At each round points will be taken across all heats and the feature

The top 4 cars in each team will have their points tallied to give that rounds score

All team members will be eligible for prize money

Confirmed Groups / Teams

Team Advanced

Ray Baughan

Matthew Leversedge

Alan Chapman

Caleb Brooks

Daniel Anderson

Allan Woods

Chris Gerrard

Team Aimex

Matt Honeywell

Mathew Anderson

Nathan Astle

Steve Sullivan

Shaun Ashton

Greg Clemence

Steve Duff Jnr

Team Edge

Jason Scott

Sam O’Callaghan

Mark Evans

Brett Sullivan

Andy Erskine

Scott Gordon

Greg Teece

Series  Sponsors

Support those that help sustain and grow our sport...

Read More

Photo  Gallery

Action aplenty from the current and past series...

Read More

Quick  Links

Links to speedway and other interesting websites...

Read More